Feel like blogging?

A meeting point for you and me

Speed dating

This dating phenomenom, which has become popular in recent years, involves meeting, one to one, a rapid succession of possible partners, with a few minutes to make a connection before a bell signals it’s time to move on. When the bell is rung , you move to another person and start chatting again. By the end of the evening you will have spoken with up to twenty men or women!

If, by the end of a conversation, you fancy the person or would like to see them again, you write it down on a card. Then, if the other person also fancies you, the organisers will contact you with their details.

Speed dating is specially designed for people in search of love who are single and too busy for the “traditional” courtship. But this personal and individual search can become more public when a company or agency promote special events.

Match.com, the leading online dating service, and the airline SkyEurope  have already arranged speed dating events on board a plane -maybe convinced that “Love is in the air…”

Another sophisticated variety of speed dating called ski dating has been put into practice on the pistes of Guzet, a ski resort in the Pyrinees.

But the Japanese government have proved to be the most fervent believers in the dating method when trying to deal with the increasing problem of the falling population in their country. They paid for massive speed dating parties in the hope of encouraging people to date, marry and start a family.

We don’t know if the method has been effective in Japan, but speed dating events seem to have become extremely popular not only among Japanese people, but in many other countries.

Spain is not an exception to the rule, and there already quite a number of online sites which can help people to find their perfect match, site like Speed Dates Club or Date Club Spain

However, if you are more the “couch potato” type, you can still meet people from the comfort of your computer, instead of having to switch seats. WooMe, the world’s largest speed-dating website, and rival websites are applying the latest internet technology to speed dating. During the speed dating session you use a web cam and live voice to talk to a possible partner for  5 minutes.

But is three or five minutes long enough to find out if you want to see someone again?  And what about romance?

If you want to do a bit of listening practice on this topic, I recommend you to go to ELLLO website. You’ve got audio and video material with activities.

October 10, 2008 - Posted by | Listening, MISCELLANEOUS, Reading

9 Comments »

  1. Hi Elenec,
    Interesting article. Thanks for your site.

    Comment by Vesedo | October 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks Verónica,
    I’m glad you liked reading the article.
    You’ve been my very first student to send a comment, but I hope there will be many others this year. That’s why I decided to start this blog: to meet you in “the blogosphere”!

    Comment by elenec | October 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. Yeah, I am glad to be the first one!
    By the way, I have a friend who goes to class at Oviedo EOI. I talk her about your blog and she thinks that it´s a great idea this space for practise parallel to the classes. My friend´s teacher doesn´t have blog and the last weekend I gave her (to my friend) these link and I hope that she also does commentaries here in the future.
    See you!!!

    Comment by Vesedo | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  4. There are already a few interesting blogs by teachers at the EOIs. I recommend you the ones included in the list of links in this blog. I’ll be adding more together with other sites that,in my opinion, are worth seeing.
    Anyway, thank you for encouraging other students to continue learning outside the clasroom. I’m sure you, students, and us, teachers can get a little more more fun this way.

    Comment by elenec | October 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hi! I’m the friend without a blog’s teacher.

    I’m having a look at your website. I think that this is a very good idea and I’m reading very interesting posts.

    I’m really glad because I can find useful links and articles about things that are familiar to me like Heroes or The boy in the striped pyjamas!

    Thanks for your blog! I’ll continue read it…

    Comment by Virginia | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. I’m glad you find our blogs interesting and useful to practise your English ouside class. That’s why I started my own blog this year: to use it as a way of communication with students and teachers. I’m not really keen on the new technological tools, but when I’m not “fighting” with my computer and things go right, I feel happy. But what makes me really satisfied is to know that somebody, like you for example, is making good use of our work.
    Thank you!

    Comment by elenec | October 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. Should this speed dating exercise be recommended for English students!?

    Perhaps it’s better to just share an article – like you did on your blog – than turn this into an actual recommendation. Still, I can’t help but think that college and adult students would find it a fascinating cultural, if not linguistic, adventure.

    I’m enjoying your blog posts quite a bit. Thanks for sharing – and pointing the way for less tech savvy English teachers like myself!

    Comment by Eric | October 28, 2008 | Reply

  8. I don’t quite get your point on the speed dating exercise. Do you mean it’s a bit “out of place”? You might be right. In fact I added it to the post a few days later since my students had to do some reading and listening activities on the topic of speed dating in their books. (Am I justifying myself? Yes, definitely a teacher again…)
    I’m enjoying your comments quite a lot. Thanks for making them and making me question myself!

    Comment by elenec | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  9. everything is in a faster pace now.. like fast foods and emails.. and lately, speed dating.. a seconds delay in this generation will cost plenty..

    Comment by Blink Date | December 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

