Feel like blogging?

A meeting point for you and me

Where do I place the comma?

This one of the questions you have probably asked yourselves many times when writing in English. It is true that we seem so absorbed by tricky grammar points and new vocabulary that we forget about other aspects of the language system, such as punctuation. However, after reading these two versions of the same passage, you’ll agree with me that punctuation does make a difference.

Version One

Dear John,

I want a man who knows what love is. All about you

are generous, kind, and thoughtful people, who are

not like you. Admit to being useless and inferior.

You have ruined me. For other men, I yearn.

For you I have no feelings whatsoever.  When we’re

apart, I can be forever happy.

Will you let me be?

Yours,

Gloria

Version Two

Dear John,

I want a man who knows what love is all about.  You

are generous, kind, and thoughtful.  People who are

not like you admit to being useless and inferior.

You have ruined me for other men.  I yearn

for you.  I have no feelings whatsoever when we’re

apart. I can be forever happy –

will you let me be yours?

Gloria

That’s why I’ve searched through several websites in order to find information as well as practice on the different symbols and their uses.

To start with, I recommend this summary of the punctuation marks from englishclub.com.

You can also find more to read about  the fundamental aspects of English pronunciation on wikihow.com.

Secondly, I’ve thought these exercises can help you to punctuate correctly:

Exercise 1: different punctuation marks, particularly commas, colons, semi-colons and apostrophes.

Exercise 2: using commas and semicolons correctly.

Exercise 3: sentence and full stop.

Exercise 4: apostrophes.

Exercise 5: colon.

Exercise 6: capital letters.

Exercise 7: general quiz on punctuation.

Finally, I just hope you don’t feel the same as Oscar Wilde:

I have spent most of the day putting in a comma and  the rest of the day taking it out.

February 21, 2012 - Posted by | Writing

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you so much Elena. This is a very useful info!

    Comment by Itziar | November 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m glad it can be of any use to you. Actually, it’s helping myself, too

    Comment by elenec | December 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

